Skip to Main Content

Research News

  • Biology Undergraduate named Researcher of the Week

    Biological Sciences major, Susanna Campbell, has been named Researcher of the Week on January 6, 2014.   Susanna's mentor is Dr. Kevin Omland, Professor of Biological Sciences.
    Posted: January 7, 2014 2:39 PM
  • Grad Students Brown and Carbonaro win Travel Grants

    Nicole Carbonaro and Jodian Brown have both recently won Travel grants. Nicole was awarded a WCC/Eli Lilly Travel award to attend the spring 2014 national meeting of the American Chemical Society...
    Posted: November 22, 2013 1:22 PM
  • Professor Geddes and the IoF’s Work Featured

    For over a decade Professor Geddes and the IoF have described in over 200 peer-reviewed manuscripts and greater than 100 patents, the interactions of Fluorophores (fluorescent molecules / dyes)...
    Posted: November 22, 2013 1:07 PM
  • Changes to Core Course Prerequisites for Spring 2014

    Starting in Spring semester 2014, the Biology major core courses (BIOL 141, 142, 302, 303 and 300L) now have the following MATH prerequisite: "You must have completed either MATH 150 or MATH 151...
    Posted: November 4, 2013 11:24 AM
  • Two Lecturer Positions in the Dept. of Biological Sciences

    Lecturer Search in Progress!
    The Department of Biological Sciences seeks to recruit two permanent, full-time lecturers. General Biology: The successful candidate will teach introductory biology for majors, covering topics...
    Posted: November 1, 2013 4:46 PM
  • Lohr's Lab Awarded Grant to Rescue Florida Sparrows

    Saving the Sparrows from Extinction!
    The United States Fish and Wildlife Services has recently showed ongoing support to Dr. Bernard Lohr for the development of behavioral methodologies for saving the Florida Grasshopper Sparrow from...
    Posted: October 30, 2013 3:53 PM
  • Biology Majors Win at 16th Undergraduate Research Symposium

    The following students majoring in our department are winners in their poster sessions at the 16th Annual Undergraduate Research Symposium in the Chemical and Biological Sciences, held at UMBC on...
    Posted: October 30, 2013 11:14 AM
  • Biology Undergrad-MARC Scholar, Susanna Campbell, wins award

    Several UMBC faculty and students attended the Southeast Population Ecology and Evolutionary Genetics (SEPEEG) annual meeting at the Mountain Lake Biological Station in Virginia. Susanna Campbell...
    Posted: October 10, 2013 2:14 PM
  • Dr Kelly awarded MIPS Grant

    Congratulations Lisa! Lisa Kelly, associate professor, department of chemistry and biochemistry, teams with Edgewood-based Feature Flooring Products Inc. to perfect the company's proprietary...
    Posted: September 27, 2013 4:36 PM
  • Drs. Summers and Hrabowski awarded Ruth Kirschstein Award

    The Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award was established to honor an outstanding scientist who has shown a strong commitment to the encouragement of under-represented minorities to...
    Posted: September 13, 2013 3:27 PM