Skip to Main Content

Research News

  • Former PhD student awarded NIH prestigious fellowship

    Graduate of Seley-Radtke Lab
    Sarah Zimmermann, Ph.D., a former graduate student in the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry at UMBC, was recently awarded a Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (NRSA) for...
    Posted: July 15, 2015 9:56 AM
  • Tom Cronin's book, "Visual Ecology"

    Shortlisted for a 2015 PROSE award!
    His book, "Visual Ecology" was shortlisted for a 2015 PROSE award (The American Publishers Awards for Professional and Scholarly Excellence) for "Biological Sciences" (the top award category for...
    Posted: June 25, 2015 11:08 AM
  • Congratulations Safae Handoun!

    PhD student Safae Handoun has been selected as a recipient of Early-Career Researcher Funding to attend 2015 International Conference on Arabidopsis Research to be held from July 5-9 in Paris,...
    Posted: June 25, 2015 9:55 AM
  • White Lab students publish their recent findings in Langmuir

    Graduate student Lauren Schoukroun-Barnes and undergraduate Ethan Glaser in the White Group publish their recent findings on heterogeneous sensor surfaces in Langmuir. The students used...
    Posted: June 3, 2015 10:15 AM
  • Jeffrey Gardner receives Dept. Of Energy Early Career Award

    Jeffrey Gardner, Assistant Professor, received a Department of Energy 2015 Early Career Research Program Award. Please check out the Insights article for more details. Congratulations Dr. Gardner!
    Posted: May 13, 2015 10:48 AM
  • Kayla Lemons attending Assoc. of Chemoreception Soc. Mtg.

    Receives AChemS Travel Fellowship
    Congratulations to Ph.D. student, Kayla Lemons who is the recipient of a AChemS travel fellowship to attend the annual meeting of the Association of Chemoreception Society this year.  She is one...
    Posted: May 11, 2015 2:36 PM
  • Ryan White named 2016 Royce W. Murray Young Investigator

    by the Society of Electroanalytical Chemistry
    Dr. Ryan White was just announced as the winner of the very prestigious Royce W. Murray Young investigator Award from the Society of Electroanalytical Chemistry for the coming year (2016).  This...
    Posted: May 7, 2015 1:20 PM
  • CNMS Awards Ceremony May 1, 2015

    RSVP Here!
    The 10th annual College of Natural and Mathematical Sciences will hold its 10th annual Student Recognition Day, Friday May 1st from 3:30-5:00 in the University Center Ballroom. All Faculty, Staff...
    Posted: April 28, 2015 11:18 AM
  • Fifteen students win Undergraduate Research Awards!

    Fifteen students in the department have been awarded Undergraduate research awards for the 2015 - 2016 academic year. The award is a monetary award of up to $1,500 to support research in the...
    Posted: April 9, 2015 4:12 PM
  • Dr. Seley awarded Presidential Research Faculty Award

    for 2015-2018
    Dr. Katherine Seley-Radtke has been awarded the Presidential Research Award for 2015-2018. Seley-Radke is currently the president of the International Society for Nucleosides, Nucleotides and...
    Posted: April 8, 2015 3:49 PM