CNMS Mission and Vision

Mission – exploring, supporting, and coordinating research and education in the natural and mathematical sciences through innovative thinking, and responsibility to our students, staff, faculty, and society.

Vision – to be recognized and respected as a premier research college with a diverse and dynamic network of faculty and staff who work to collaboratively extend the boundaries of science and pursue excellence in the delivery and innovation of teaching and learning in STEM.

Values – knowledge, excellence, scholarship, integrity, innovation, inclusion, accountability, service, and community

College History

The College of Natural and Mathematical Sciences (CNMS) was established in 2005 when UMBC’s long-standing College of Arts and Sciences was reorganized into the CNMS and the College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences.  At that time, the college was comprised of the Departments of Biological Sciences, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Mathematics and Statistics, and Physics. In 2010, the Department of Marine Biotechnology, which is located in Baltimore’s Inner Harbor, was welcomed into the College as part of the reorganization of the University of Maryland Biotechnology Institute.

Dr. William R. LaCourse was appointed as CNMS Dean in July 2012 after serving as Interim Dean beginning August 1, 2011, and Chair of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry from 2008 to 2011.  Dr. Philip Rous preceded Dr. LaCourse as the CNMS Dean from 2008 to 2011, at which time he was appointed as the Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs at UMBC. Founding Dean Dr. Geoffrey Summers, who retired in 2013, led the college through 2008 when he was appointed to the position of Vice President for Research.